TWO new releases from TILTS and ANCIENT SKY, plus awesome Robotic Empire distro updates!

February 25, 2012

We are very stoked to announce TWO new release from Robotic Empire this time around, both existing within the “awesome rock” end of the sonic spectrum.

Starting the party is our first ever Kickstarter-funded release, the debut album from TILTS! Self recorded by the band over 3 sessions, the whole thing was pro mixed, pro mastered and then we begged n’ pleaded for the general public to pay for the pressing of this beast. Thankfully a little (necessary) prideswallowing has yielded the vinyl existence of probably the most catchy ass rock album we’ve ever been a part of! There’s 12 songs on this thing and not a single one sucks. We’re talkin QOTSA, VAN HALEN, CHEAP TRICK kinda vibes… and ALL KILLER / NO FILLER material.

We ran an edition of 500 copies of this bad boy, all on translucent yellow vinyl. This comes in a black & white outer sleeve with art by Tom Huck (who’s also done stuff for THE ROOTS!), full color printed innersleeve (with a painstakingly awesome photo-collage) and a high-quality digital download of the whole shebang! This is the real deal holyfield. It turned out boss and we’re VERY pumped to present it to you today.

* TILTS debut is available now in the Robotic Empire – Online Store
* Preview some choice TILTS audio cuts via Bandcamp
* Watch the audio/video medley promo thang we did for the Kickstarter (it’s tight)

p.s. we should probably mention somewhere that TILTS also contains a member of TORCHE and RIDDLE OF STEEL… there, we said it.

Next on deck is the fan-freakin-tastic sophomore album from NYC’s ANCIENT SKY, our first time working with them directly on a release but almost every member has some level of history with the label through past-lives in VERSE EN COMA, GHASTLY CITY SLEEP, MAJORITY RULE and MENEGUAR (who sadly, we just barely never got to work with). This time we’ve joined forces to help with the digital download of their masterful new effort, T.R.I.P.S., as well as the physical cassette tape edition of this banger.

Expanding beyond prior endeavours, ANCIENT SKY is a fully realised and well versed psychedelic rock band that tastefully journeys yet still bringith thy heavy jams. Nods towards DEAD MEADOW, THE BLACK HEART PROCESSION and OM territory may be unintentional, but the calibre and quality of these tunes brings those (current) contemporaries to mind, not to discount the heavy influence of “enhanced” music from generations past. Thankfully ANCIENT SKY do not fall down the meandering pitfalls some modern psych bands can find themselves in, and in fact T.R.I.P.S. is downright catchy at times!

The T.R.I.P.S. album was also self-recorded to 2″ tape and truly sounds excellent. The band has self-released the 12″ vinyl edition on their Loud Baby Sounds imprint, which we thankfully now have copies of along with the cassette and their debut LP on The Perpetual Motion Machine. Tape edition limited to 100 copies.

* ANCIENT SKY stuff galore is available now in the Robotic Empire – Online Store
* Preview some choice ANCIENT SKY material via Bandcamp
* (Legally) download T.R.I.P.S. via iTunes/etc.

In addition to the new Robo-wares, we’ve gotten in a decent pile of great new items including the House of Low Culture from Taiga Records, Karp documentary DVD, rad cassettes from Baldy Longhair Records and some classic restocks including the repress of Nadja’s Corrasion on CD. Check the full list below:

* Aidan Baker – Closure Axioms CD (Miskatonic Soundlab) $7.99
* Ancient Sky – T.R.I.P.S. 12″ (Loud Baby Sounds) $11.99
* Ancient Sky – T.R.I.P.S. Cassette (Robotic Empire) $4.99
* Ancre – Nacre – CLEAR COLORED VINYL 12″ (Adagio830) $11.99
* Crazy & The Brains – Don’t Need No Snacks Cassette (Baldy Longhair) $6.99
* Dead – Thundaaaaaah 12″ (Wantage USA) $11.99
* Disconnects, The – Are Healthy Cassette (Baldy Longhair) $6.99
* Drainland / Enabler – Split 7″ (Halo Of Flies) $4.99
* Flechette – Self-Titled 12″ (Sound Era) $9.99
* Highgate – Self-Titled 12″ (Vendetta) $11.99
* House of Low Culture – Poisoned Soil 2×12″ (Taiga) $24.99
* Karp – Kill All Redneck Pricks: A Documentary About A Band Called Karp DVD (Wantage USA) $19.99
* Ketha – 2nd Sight CD (Instant Classic) $7.99
* Kids Of Zoo – Debut 12″ (Adagio830) $11.99
* Little Gold – Weird Freedom 12″ (Loud Baby Sounds) $11.99
* Priapus / Old Painless – Split – COLORED VINYL 7″ (Self Released) $4.99
* Psychic Teens – Teen – WHITE COLORED VINYL 12″ (Golden Voyage) $13.99
* Radical Dads – Mega Rama 12″ (Loud Baby Sounds) $11.99
* St. Sunday – Nightingalesong Cassette (Baldy Longhair) $6.99
* Through Thorn & Brier – Good Grief Cassette (Baldy Longhair) $6.99
* Tilts – Self-Titled – YELLOW COLORED VINYL 12″ (Robotic Empire) $11.99

* Alcest – Souvenirs D’Un Autre Monde 12″ (Hyperrealist) $14.99
* Ancient Sky – Self-Titled – CLEAR WITH PINK HAZE COLORED VINYL 12″ (The Perpetual Motion Machine) $10.99
* Ancient Sky – Self-Titled – WHITE COLORED VINYL 12″ (The Perpetual Motion Machine) $10.99
* Catalyst, The – Swallow Your Teeth 12″ (The Perpetual Motion Machine) $10.99
* Chino Horde – Discography 2×12″ (Adagio) $24.99
* East of the Wall – The Apologist 2×12″ (Antithetic) $19.99
* Highgate – Shrines To The Warhead 12″ (Vendetta) $11.99
* Indian Summer – Hidden Arithmetic 12″ (Adagio830) $14.99
* Kayo Dot – Coyote 12″ (Taiga) $14.99
* Litany For The Whale – Dolores – WHITE COLORED VINYL 12″ (The Perpetual Motion Machine) $9.99
* Millions Of Them – Failures 12″ (Adagio) $11.99
* Nadja – Corrasion CD (Foreshadow) $9.99

Well that’s’ all for now as we close out the month of February. Here’s hoping you’ll find some new tunes to check out as the winter months come to a close. Peace!

Robotic Empire – Online Store

* Robotic Empire on Twitter

* Robotic Empire on Facebook

* Robotic Empire on Tumblr

* Robotic Empire’s email list

* Robotic Empire’s news blog/archive

* Robotic Empire’s youtube channel

* Robotic Empire Wholesale
* Robotic Empire on Myspace
* Robotic Empire at Sound Cloud
* Robotic Empire at Band Camp
* Robotic Empire’s main website

The post TWO new releases from TILTS and ANCIENT SKY, plus awesome Robotic Empire distro updates! appeared first on Robotic Empire.